Full list of election candidates revealed

With the ballot nominations closing, the public has a full list of candidates that are running in next month’s election.


Running for Mayor is the incumbent Jenny Whitney as well as current deputy Andrew Willcox. Also throwing his hat into the race is Airlie Beach local Eric Oliver.

Division 1 has Michelle Lynes and Mark Yore challenging current councilor Jan Clifford.

In division 2 John Atkinson is standing again after his bi-election victory in 2014 and will be challenged by Ron Petterson and Tanya Bandow.

For the next division former deputy Mayor Rogin Taylor is running once again and he is going against current member John ‘Sarge’ Collins.

Division 4 will see Peter Ramage challenged by Pat Faust and Gary Simpson for the seat while Dave Clark is running unopposed in Division 5.

In division 6 the race to replace Andrew Willcox will be between John Smith, Michael Brunker and Jeff Hawkins.

Voting takes place on Saturday March 19 around the Whitsundays.

Make sure you tune in after our Regional Report this week for the debut of our new series, THE NEXT 4 which will give you all your election coverage from now until after the big day.