Further Disaster Assistance

The North Queensland monsoon trough continues to cause major and widespread flooding across parts of the state, prompting the further expansion of disaster assistance for the impacted local government areas of Carpentaria, Mornington, Winton and Yarrabah.

Assistance is being provided through the jointly funded Commonwealth-Queensland Disaster Recovery Funding Arrangements (DRFA) and is in addition to the assistance already activated for North and Far North Queensland.


Assistant Minister for Home Affairs Senator. Linda Reynolds says this latest extension now provides assistance to 20 local government areas.

“Through the DRFA, assistance is now available to Carpentaria, Mornington, Winton and Yarrabah councils to help assist with the cost of clean-up and repairs.”

The 20 local council areas are:

Charters Towers, Winton, Whitsunday Cloncurry, Cook, Croydon, Douglas, Etheridge, Hinchinbrook, Hope Vale, McKinlay, Mornington, Palm Island, Richmond, Townsville, Wujal Wuja, Burdekin, Cairns, Carpentaria l and Yarrabah.

Information on disaster assistance can be found on the Australian Government’s Disaster Assist website at www.disasterassist.gov.au and the Queensland Government’s Disaster Management website at www.disaster.qld.gov.au.