New Leadership for Heavy Vehicle regulator

Two new board members for the National Heavy Vehicle Regulator (NHVR) have been announced.

Deputy Prime Minister and Federal Infrastructure, Transport and Regional Development Minister Michael McCormack and Queensland Transport and Main Roads Minister Mark Bailey revealed the new members today.


Current NHVR Board Chair Bruce Baird AM and board member Vincent Tremaine will retire in October, opening the way for the two new experienced and suitable appointments.

Mr McCormack says Duncan Gay and Ken Lay AO APM will replace Mr Baird and Mr Tremaine when their contracts expire next month and acknowledged their service.

“All State and Territory Ministers have unanimously agreed Mr Gay is ideally suited to provide leadership as Chair of the NHVR Board, over the next three years.”

“Mr Gay is well respected in the heavy vehicle industry and across governments, particularly in NSW where he successfully served in roads and transport portfolios during his three-decades-long career.”

“I would like to thank Bruce Baird AM, for his service over six years, which included establishing the NHVR and setting its strategic direction.”

“Mr Baird has overseen a great deal of positive change for the heavy vehicle industry after overcoming many early challenges.

“I’d also thank Vincent Tremaine for his counsel and advice during his six-year term on the NHVR Board, providing continuity and stability to the board and the NHVR.”

State minister Mark Bailey welcomed the appointment of Mr Lay AO APM to the NHVR Board, highlighting the skill and experience of the current Lieutenant-Governor of Victoria and former Victoria Police Chief Commissioner.

“The NHVR Board membership will be staggered over the 2018-2021 period to provide for a smooth transition to new membership.”

“Peter Garske will continue on as Deputy Chair of the NHVR Board, as will board members, Coral Taylor and Robin Stewart-Crompton.”